Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma in Computing and Systems Development (QCF)

Our BTEC/HND Higher Nationals in Computing have been developed with input from the Information and Communications Technology sector to deliver the essential understanding and practical skills for a career in the IT sector.


Course structure at both levels are unitised. All learners study the core units Business Skills for e-Commerce, Computer Systems and Employability and Professional Development while level 5 learners can also study Project Design, Implementation and Evaluation.

Register Now or call us FREE on 800 4852 for more information on our highly competitive fees

Qualifications Framework

Edexcel BTEC Higher Nationals are designed to provide a specialist vocational programme, linked to professional body requirements and National Occupational Standards where appropriate.


They offer a strong, sector-related emphasis on practical skills development alongside the development of requisite knowledge and understanding. The qualifications provide a thorough grounding in the key concepts and practical skills required in their sector and their national recognition by employers allows direct progression to employment.


What progression opportunities are available to learners who achieve this qualification?


Successful completion of the Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma provides the opportunity for a wide range of other academic programmes including progression to a third year of BSc (Hons) in Computing. The Edexcel BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma is recognised by employers and higher education institutions worldwide.


Edexcel qualifications allow students to progress to Bachelors programmes and Higher Education Institutions in many countries. BTEC Higher Nationals are an ideal alternative progression route. There are many examples of students studying their BTEC Higher National locally before entering the second or even final year of a degree in another country, including the UK (for international students), USA and Australia. In the UK students graduating from HND/HNC programmes are able to progress to Honours Degree programmes, but the requirements will vary according to the receiving Institution. A BTEC HND is normally given 240 credits.


Teaching, Learning and Assessment


The assessment of Edexcel BTEC Higher National qualifications is criterion-referenced and centres are required to assess learners’ evidence against published learning outcomes and assessment criteria.


All units will be individually graded as ‘PASS’, ‘MERIT’ or ‘DISTINCTION’. To achieve a pass grade for the unit learners must meet the assessment criteria set out in the specifications. This gives transparency to the assessment process and provides for the establishment of national standards for each qualification.

Qualification Structure


1.Qualification credit value: a minimum of 240 credits.
2.Minimum credit to be achieved at the level of the qualification (level 5): 125 credits.
3.Mandatory core unit credit: 65 credits.
4.Specialist unit credit: 175 credits.
5.The requirements of the HNC have to be met.


Students need to complete all core units from Group A (65 Credits) and another eight (11) optional units a total of 175 credits to achieve the full qualification.


Below is a full outline of the Structure of the course: